banana chocolate coffee bread

So my last post lied. I returned to the country, but not to my blog. I can blame it on starting a new job (over 6 months ago..), living with my boyfriend, summertime, poor wifi at home…and I do; but regardless I want to capture some snap shots of these moments in my life (and my kitchen). I’m attempting to get back in the swing of things so, please stay tuned while I get back in blog mode.

Now that it’s almost starting to cool down here, the idea of baking in a warm kitchen sounds better and better. Noticing two more mushy bananas to add to the others I’ve saved, it only means one thing–banana bread. And why not add a little caffeine to kick off your morning? Here is a recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks (My Mother’s Southern Kitchen) along with some images of the day. Hope you’re enjoying the last few weeks of summer! With this delicious cake, my morning routine will be have a much brighter start.

banana choc coffee bread     breakfast

Ingredients:

  • espresso powder and two ripened bananas
  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, well beaten
  • 1 cup peeled and mashed bananas

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease and dust a 10-inch bundt pan with instant coffee, then place sliced bananas around the sides of the pan.

In a medium size mixing bowl, combine the flour, 1/2 cup cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix well and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream together with an electric mixer the butter, brown sugar, and instant coffee until smooth. Add the eggs and mashed bananas and mix well with the a spoon. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan. Bake until a cake tester inserted comes out clean, about 45 minutes. Eat all day long :)

kitchen view     bowls

Leave a Reply

