butternut squash & sausage tart

I feels like half of the people I know are New Years babies. I didn’t make the connection until I realized that I’ve celebrated at least one birthday a week for the past month! So pardon my tardiness with this post. To celebrate one of my favorite fall birthday babes, I made this tart. The initial recipe is found in the Williams & Sonoma Farmer’s Market cookbook. After my first attempt at the recipe Dane shared it was his favorite thing I’ve ever made. Naturally, I noted the praise in my cookbook with other helpful tips–date, time of year & ease. After a few times making this warm fall dish I had it committed to memory. Butternut squash screams fall, so bring this into your kitchen and join me in the fall spirit! Here’s an preview of the finished tart to get your mouth watering…

baked

Ingredients:

  • phillo pastry dough
  • 1/2 lb sausage (chorizo sausage is an excellent pairing)
  • 1 butternut squash (chopped–I’ll admit, I prefer the Trader Joe’s precut packages, but if you have patience and nice knives go for the real deal)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp rosemary
  • 1/2 Tbsp garlic salt (regular salt is fine too)
  • 1 Tbsp paprika
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 onion
  • 1/8 c. heavy cream
  • 1/2 c. shredded sharp white cheddar cheese
  • 1 Tbsp melted butter

First, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Toss butternut squash, oil, rosemary, salt, and paprika in a medium mixing bowl. Pour onto a flat pan and roast for 10-15 minutes until squash is almost tender. Next, heat the remaining Tbsp olive oil in frying pan. Add sausage and sauté for 3-5 minutes until lightly browned. Scoop the sausage onto paper towels leaving the grease in the pan. Next, sauté onion and garlic until they appear tender ( 5 -7minutes). Add 1/8 c. heavy cream if you’d like a thicker mixture. Allow mixture to come to a light boil, let simmer for 3-4 minutes until mixture thickens. It looks a little eggy in the picture, but I promises it’s a yummy onion/garlic combo… Then, let ingredients cool.

squash     cooked squash

onions     onion mixture

Place dough sheets onto pan forming a rectangular shape. Spread melted butter throughout the layers to adhere the layers together. Pour onion mixture evenly over prepared dough leaving a 1-1/2 inch border. Spoon butternut squash and sausage onto dough  and sprinkle with cheese. If your dough allows, fold borders over to create a crust. Bake in oven for 15-20 minutes, until crust is browned. If it’s a small party, what you can’t finish makes for great leftovers…this made for a tasty lunch for me and Dane ;)

into oven     leftovers

Leave a Reply

