almond lemon ricotta cake {gf}

I saw this beautiful cake on the blog Honey and Figs and was immediately obsessed. It sounded like everything I like combined into one piece of edible artwork. Luckily, one of my closest friends had a birthday last week so I had the opportunity to make it happen. I did not have all of the ingredients on hand, so a trip to the grocery store was in order.

You will need: (The actual recipe called out the measurements in grams. I don’t have a scale (yet) so posted below are measurements sans scale. If you prefer measuring with a scale, please use the recipe here)

1/2 cup or 1 stick unsalted butter, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

2 vanilla beans (I used 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract instead, I forgot to pick up beans at the store. oops!)

zest from 2 lemons

4 eggs (separated and at room temperature)

2 1/2 cups almond meal

10 1/2 oz ricotta

1 cup of sliced almonds (for sprinkling in all pans and on top of the final layer)

almond ricotta cake

First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Prepare your baking pans to your preference. I buttered mine then added almond slices to the bottom of each layer.

Beat softened butter, 1 cup powdered sugar, vanilla beans (or extract), and lemon zest in mixer until creamy (5-6 minutes mixing time). Add egg yolks one at a time and mix well after each additional yolk. Next, mix in the almond meal until completely combined and fold ricotta into mixture.

In a separate mixing bowl, add egg whites and remanning cup of powered sugar and beat until stiff peaks form. Fold this mixture into your cake batter.

Pour mixture into prepared pans. I have (5) 6″ cake pans to make a mini layered cake. Pro of these pans: they bake in 11 minutes. Con of these small pans: they bake in 11 minutes which is not enough time to take a shower or clean the kitchen like I prefer to do while a cake is baking. BUT they made for an adorable fresh looking cake. I just need to get my timing better!

If you make this cake in one layer as Honey and Figs did, you don’t need an icing. However, since I made it with layers, I whipped up a light cream cheese frosting to put between each layer and lightly around the sides. For the frosting: beat 3 oz softened cream cheese, 1 cup powered sugar, 1/2 cup whipping cream. This is my go to icing mixture…you might want to add more of one ingredient depending on how creaming, whipped, or sweet you like yours to be. You can’t go wrong with those ingredients!

cake complete

Enjoy this beauty and start looking forward to summer citrusy sweets, I know I am.

One thought on “almond lemon ricotta cake {gf}

Leave a Reply

