lemon strawberry cheesecake with ginger snap crust (gf)

A few weeks ago I wanted to make a sweet dessert after dinner with my boyfriend. He’s not a huge cake fan, so I stick to cheesecake and candy treats when he’s involved. This lemon strawberry cheesecake was quite delicious and surprisingly healthy (due to my fridge food selection).

gingersnap crust

Crust:

1 cup gingersnap cookie crumbs (I used GF version found at Publix)
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp lemon zest
small pinch salt
2 1/2 tbsp butter, melted

In a medium bowl, make the gingersnap cookie crust. Mix together gingersnap crumbs, brown sugar, lemon zest and salt and stir to combine. Pour over melted butter and stir with a fork to moisten the crumbs. Place about a tablespoon of crumb mixture in each of the prepared muffin cups and pack down into an even layer. (I had 4 larger glass bowls so I divided the mixture evenly and spread it throughout the dish)

 

ingredients

I started with this recipe I found online, but diverged from it based on the food in the pantry and fridge. If you learned to cook in college, you know that greek yogurt is an excellent substitution for sour cream. Following that motto, I took a few other leaps and added strawberry yogurt to my sour cream substitute.

Filling:

8-oz cream cheese, softened
2 tbsp sour cream or greek-style yogurt (I used a combination of plain greek yogurt and strawberryΒ  vanilla)
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp lemon extract (optional)
1 tbsp lemon zest

In a large bowl, make the cheesecake. Cream together cream cheese, sour cream and sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg, vanilla extract and lemon extract, if using. Stir in lemon zest.
Divide cheesecake mixture evenly into prepared muffin tins/ bowls.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, until cheesecakes are set.
Allow to cool for 10 minutes in the muffin pan (or glass bowls), then carefully transfer cheesecakes to a cooling rack to cool completely before refrigerating.

{photo below is pre-oven, unfortunately I did not get one afterwards…they were eaten too quickly!}

into the oven

Now enjoy with your favorite cheesecake lover <3

Leave a Reply

