“purple” cake with cream cheese frosting (gf)

I’m usually the “sweets/cake” girl amongst my friends, so when my birthday comes around I like to bake the cake. This year, in keeping with my gluten free diet, I attempted a gluten free yellow cake. I saw this picture of a green ombre cake on pinterest–immediately inspired. For this cake, I combined two recipes together (one for the gluten free flour combination and the other from my favorite dessert cookbook: My Mother’s Southern Desserts for the consistency)

ingredients

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose gluten free flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon xanthum gum

2 cups granulated sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

4 large eggs, separated

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

cake process

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour four 8 inch round baking pans, tapping out any excess flour.

In a small mixing bowl, whisk the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and xanthum gum. Next, in a large mixer cream sugar and butter together until light and fluffy then add egg yolks one at a time, beating after each until creamy. Alternately add the dry ingredients and milk to the batter, beginning and ending with dry mixture. In another large mixing bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, then fold them gently into the batter. Stir in vanilla. Separate batter into four (more or less depending on your layers) bowls and add desired food coloring. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake 20-30 minutes (you’ll know it’s done when inserting a toothpick into cake it comes out clean).

bday cake

For the icing, I wanted a light cream cheese based topping for the cake. I kind of winged it…but I combined 1 package of cream cheese with about 4 cups sifted powdered sugar. Mix until you reach your desired consistency. Frost between each layer and decorate with your favorite fruit. I chose blueberries and mint to make a floral inspired design. Mmm!

Leave a Reply

