peanut butter banana bread (gluten free)

This weekend, I’m getting ready for a vacation. D and I are heading back up to North Carolina to hit the slopes and do more snowboarding. While the snow is melting in Atlanta, we’re going north to find more to enjoy. I’ve found that a gluten free diet helps my stomach a lot, but trying to stick to it while on vacation requires more dedication. So, to have plenty of GF snacks on hand I found this recipe for a gluten free peanut butter banana bread (adapted with what was in my kitchen). YUM.

You will need:
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana
1/3 cup plain fat-free yogurt (I used fage 0%)
1/3 cup creamy peanut butter (I used our new nuts n more brand)
3 tablespoons butter, melted
2 large eggs
1 cup granulated sugar
6.75 ounces all-purpose flour (about 1 1/2 cups, I need to invest in a scale for the kitchen…)
1 tsp xanthan gum

3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
Cooking spray or butter for baking dish

flour mixture

First, preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease your 9 x 5 loaf pan. Next, whisk flour, xanthum gum, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and allspice in a small mixing bowl.

mixing

Then, using a hand held (or standing) mixer combine bananas, yogurt, eggs, peanut butter, sugar, and butter together. Once that is thoroughly mixed, begin adding the flour mixture to this wet mixture. I added the flour mixture in three iterations. Once my batter was ready I added a handful (about half a cup) of chocolate chips to add a little more sweetness to the bread.

pre oven

Pour your batter into the dish and put it into the oven. Most breads like this take between 45 minutes and an hour. Mine took 55 minutes in my oven, but set your timer a little earlier just to be safe! Stick a toothpick in the crowning bread to see if it’s done. When it comes out clean, it’s ready to come out of the oven.

extra

I didn’t think D and I needed a whole loaf to ourselves for the weekend, so I packaged some up to share with a few others!

Leave a Reply

