kale, mushrooms, and persimmons oh my!

green market

Piedmont Park hosts a Green Market every Saturday from 9-1. Unfortunately, I usually move pretty slow most Saturdays so I went to my first market last weekend. We arrived just in time to see the last goods each vendor had to offer. My friend Emily spotted some persimmons that looked ripe for the picking! With three persimmons in hand, we were ready to go.

persimmon

The vendor assured me that mine needed a few days to ripen. This being my first persimmon, I looked through a few cookbooks right after getting it to see how they are usually prepared. I saw a recipe for roasted persimmons with pistachios and another that used them along with a steak dish. This persimmon still wasn’t quite ready, so I let that idea rest.

kale mushroom persimmon

At the end of the week, my roommate and I were making a kale side dish for dinner. We usually saute a head of kale with some olive oil, apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper. However, this time, we added some leftover mushrooms from an earlier farmers market meal, chopped up the persimmon and let it all saute to mesh together. I didn’t really know what to expect out of this tomato looking food. It cut like a tomato, but tasted like a peach with the texture of a grape. Who knew!Β The end result: a delicious side with layered flavors of the bitter kale, tangy balsamic mushrooms, and sweet persimmons.

Leave a Reply

