throw back thursday

Throw Back Thursday

As you may know, this beautiful necklace was one of my grandmother’s. Before she passed, I had not seen the piece nor did I know any history behind it. My grandfather, being a wealth of information, shared the history of purchasing it from the Zuni Indians in New Mexico and a woman named Bonnie in particular. When I acquired this piece, I assumed it would be a statement necklace worn every so often. Instead, it’s turned out to be one of my “go to” pieces of jewelry. With it’s vibrant squash blossom shapes made from the turquoise and hand crafted silver, it simply makes an outfit. Everyone has a piece in their wardrobe that you feel connected to both aesthetically and spiritually–this is mine. I haven’t come to a conclusion on what I believe for the after-life, but wearing this necklace allows me feel to my grandma’s spirit right on my heart. And that is good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

